A Love Supreme: Pursuance

"Pursuance" opens and closes with Jones' drum solos, communicated by the sharp lines delineating regions of black and white. Tyner takes over with an expressive solo that comprises the center of this image. Coltrane weaves in between the other players, as the ribbons intermingle with, and become the fractal elements, carrying over the theme from "Acknowledgement."

This series is based on John Coltrane's 1964 album, "A Love Supreme." The four-part suite was revealed to Coltrane all at once in a dream, and was recorded as a testament to his spiritual awakening. As critic Chip Stern writes, "'A Love Supreme' heralded Coltrane's search for spiritual and musical freedom, as expressed through polyrhythms, modalities, and purely vertical forms..." The suite was performed by Coltrane's quartet of himself on tenor saxophone, pianist McCoy Tyner, bassist Jimmy Garrison, and drummer Elvin Jones.

 © 2001 Kerry Mitchell